First Hike of the Year!

Yesterday afternoon, after Makenzie woke up from her nap, we headed out to enjoy the blissful weather. We were thrilled to finally get in our first hike of the year. Well, it was really more of a trail walk than a hike, but hike sounds more fun. We went on an easy trail real close to us that surrounds Lake Lanier and the Chattahoochee River.

Trail Head

It was the perfect option because a) it was close and it was already 3:30 by the time we could go, b) the first time of the year should be lighter to not kill ourselves, and c) hiking with a kiddo tends to limit the trail options to lighter ones. Although I do look forward to more interesting trails in the upcoming months 😀

After we parked, we got Makenzie all situated and loaded the pack onto my back.

Ready and Raring to Go

Then we hit the trail for 3 miles worth of fun. We had a few pit stops along the way too. Like checking out the river…

The 'Hooch

Say Cheese!

…acting goofy with Daddy…

Peter is going to kill me!!! Goofy & one of the only times he is in his glasses...

Climbing some random playground thing at the end of the trail

….taking some photo ops…

Happy Family

M enjoying the hike

…and sharing the love 🙂

hand holding

and lip locking - poor M - she sees this a lot

Do you enjoy hikes/trails? I love discovering new trails, places, and scenery! I am not a serious hiker by any means, but it is still one of my favorite things to do on a weekend with the family.

What would be your ideal way to spend a sunny afternoon?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to First Hike of the Year!

  1. I’d love to hike! Unfortunately we don’t have anything like that or anywhere that I really could around here. I wish! My ideal way to spend a sunny afternoon would be at the beach w/ a later dinner with my family!

  2. LindsayRuns says:

    What fun! Looks like you had a great time. Your little cherub is so cute with her daddy!

  3. Lindsey says:

    I’ve never gone trail hiking! but I would love to, it looks so fun and peaceful 🙂

    Great pics!

  4. Danielle says:

    It looks like you had an amazing day 🙂 I’m excited that the weather is getting warmer so now I can venture out onto trails!

    Although, my ideal way to spend a sunny afternoon would probably be on the beach 😉

  5. This is adorable! Perfect QT with the family…I love trail runs! Looks like you had a great weekend! 🙂

  6. How fun! We got in our first outdoor run of the year together on Saturday. Hubby has been a couple of times, but it’s always fun to get in a good run together down at the river trails. We got to get in another one at lunch today. I always want to go hiking (we have a fairly steep mountain to hike close by) until I get about halfway up! LOL. My ideal sunny day will always be on the beach with a good book next to the hubby!

  7. You guys are such a cute family! M is lucky, I believe seeing affection between parents will only strengthen her understanding of love!

  8. lisaou11 says:

    add a dog to your hike and that would be my perfect afternoon! looks like a blast.

    I love your family (and you) so much.

  9. Stephen and I love hiking. Living in the foothills of the mountains makes it quite easy to find places to go. Hiking up a steep mountain is such a great workout!

    Haha, M looks unaffected by your kiss! -)

  10. Jenn N. says:

    We have TONS of beautiful hikes where we live. We just went on our first hike of the year two weeks ago. Everything was so green from all the rain. It was breathtaking. It really is one of my favorite ways to spend a Saturday afternoon.

  11. Aww hiking is so much fun. Good thing the weather is getting better 🙂 Your family is so adorable by the way. Oh and Berkeley Bowl is a unique supermarket at Berkeley, CA. It’s like a Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s combined but a lot cheaper and a lot more options.

  12. Kirsten says:

    If you haven’t done it before, I think y’all would really like Kennessaw Mountain State Park. I did a 5 mile walk/hike there a few weeks ago and really enjoyed it.

  13. So much fun!! I haven’t been on many hikes, but I do find them to be incredibly enjoyable and relaxing. It’s one of the best ways to spend the day out in nature, for sure. And you and your family are so cute =)

  14. Melissa says:

    My dad just showed me a list of hiking trails in New England! I’m crossing my fingers for nice weather so that I can get out and about on my next free weekend.

    Cute family photos!

  15. Pingback: FAITH, FITNESS, FUN » Blog Archive » Three Degrees of Separation

Leave a comment